CFS orphaned in the “R” codes in ICD-10-CM

CFS orphaned in the “R” codes in US specific ICD-10-CM

Post #60 Shortlink:

Current proposals for ICD-10-CM place CFS in Chapter 18, under R53 Malaise and fatigue at R53.82 Chronic fatigue syndrome NOS (Not otherwise specified).

According to a Note to a Recommendation on the CSFSAC webpages:

*DFO Note: The ICD 10-CM is scheduled for implementation on October 1, 2013. In that classification, two mutually exclusive codes exist for chronic fatigue [sic]:

post-viral fatigue syndrome (in the nervous system chapter), and
chronic fatigue syndrome, unspecified (in the signs and symptoms chapter).

HHS has no plans at this time to change this classification in the ICD 10-CM.

Images Copyright 2011 ME agenda  No unauthorized reproduction


The revision of ICD-10, ICD-11, is scheduled for implementation in 2015.

Once ICD-10-CM has been adopted, the US does not envisage moving on to ICD-11 (or a “Clinical Modification” adaptation of ICD-11) for many years.

Partial Code Freeze

Although ICD-10-CM is not scheduled for implementation until October 2013, it had been proposed that at some point prior that date codes might be “frozen”.

At the ICD-9-CM Coordination & Maintenance Committee Meeting on Sept. 15, 2010, it was announced that the committee had finalized the decision to implement a partial freeze for both ICD-9-CM codes and ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS codes prior to implementation of ICD-10 on Oct. 1, 2013.

       Partial Code Freeze Announcement

As of October 1, 2011, only limited updates will be instituted into the code sets so that providers, payers, clearinghouses, and health IT vendors will not have to simultaneously keep pace with code updates while also reconfiguring their existing systems for ICD-10-CM/PCS.

So the clock is ticking for CFS and US advocates and patients need to be aware of how little time may be left.


[1] International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM). Note: The 2011 release of ICD-10-CM is now available. It replaces the December 2010 release:

[2] US “Clinical Modification” ICD-10-CM
This article clarifies any confusion between ICD-10, ICD-11 and the forthcoming US Clinical Modification, ICD-10-CM:

[3] Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Advisory Committee (CFSAC). The Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Advisory Committee (CFSAC) provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Health and Human Services via the Assistant Secretary for Health of the U.S. Minutes of meetings, Recommendations and meeting videocasts:


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: